Answer ( 1 )


    Which Of The Following Are Monomers Of Dna: WHAT ARE THE FOUR TYPES OF DNA MONOMERS?

    DNA is the genetic material that holds the blueprint for all living organisms. It’s composed of four building blocks or monomers, each with its unique chemical structure and properties. But do you know what these monomers are? In this blog post, we’ll explore the four types of DNA monomers and their significance in understanding the fundamental nature of life itself. So sit back, grab a cuppa, and let’s dive into the world of DNA!

    DNA Monomers

    There are four types of DNA monomers: adenines, guanines, cytosine, and thymine. Adenines and guanines are paired together in sugar-phosphate backbone duplexes, while cytosine is paired with thymine. Each monomer has a unique function in the molecule. Adenines are responsible for replication and transcription, while guanines help form the nucleotides that make up the genetic code.

    Types of Monomers

    There are four main types of monomers that make up DNA: adenine, guanine, thymine, and cytosine. Adenine and guanine are found together as a double helix, thymine and cytosine are found together as a single strand, and adenine, thymine, and cytosine can also be found in other combinations (such as in the middle of a duplex).

    Polymerization of Monomers

    There are four types of DNA monomers: nucleotides, bases, phosphates, and sugars. Each monomer has a specific function in building up the chain of DNA. Nucleotides are the smallest unit of genetic material and make up the backbone of the molecule. They are composed of a sugar and a base together, and are paired together like beads on a string. Bases are made up of two nucleotide units stuck together. Phosphates are similar to bases, but they have an extra phosphate group attached to one of the nucleotide units. Sugars are important for helping DNA bind to other molecules and help it function properly.

    DNA Replication

    What are the four types of DNA monomers?

    The four types of DNA monomers are: polynucleotides, deoxyribonucleotides, nucleosides, and nucleotides.
    polynucleotides: These are long chains of DNA that are made up of monomer nucleotides. There are two types of polynucleotides: deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) and ribonucleic acid (RNA).

    deoxyribonucleic acid: This is the main form of DNA found in cells. It is a long chain of sugar-phosphate molecules.

    ribonucleic acid: This is a shorter chain of DNA that is used to make proteins. It is made up of ribonucleotide units.


    A monomer is the smallest unit of DNA. There are four types of monomers: cytosine, guanine, adenine, and thymine.

Leave an answer